Lake Superior shoreline

Regional Planning

The Central Upper Peninsula Planning & Development Regional Commission (CUPPAD) is a voluntary association of local units of government units and private sector groups within the Central Upper Peninsula of Michigan.  The Commission was organized in 1968 under the provisions of Public Act 281, P.A. of 1945 in the State of Michigan.  Geographically the region consists of Alger, Delta, Dickinson, Marquette, Menominee, and Schoolcraft Counties, which are located in the central part of Michigan’s Upper Peninsula.  These six counties conform to the regional boundaries established by then Governor Milliken in Executive Orders 1968-1 and 1974-4 which designated these counties as State Planning Region 12.

CUPPAD’s Mission is the cooperative analysis, planning and action for economic social and physical development and conservation within the six county region.  We assist communities with comprehensive planning activities including but not limited to economic and community development, land use planning, plan preparation, grant writing and administration, transportation planning, recreation planning, community surveys, and similar planning related projects.  CUPPAD also serves as the contact point and regional clearinghouse for local, state, and federal agencies, grants, and other programs.

The CUPPAD Region

Click the map below to pull up county-specific information and resources.